How to reset your Mac to factory settings ?.

0
40




Before you sell or dispose of your Mac, it is very important to delete your personal data. Good news, delete data on a Mac is not so complicated, but before the “clear all and restart”, you will need to go through 7 steps.

Follow our tutorial and your computer will regain its youthful glow !

1 – Clone your Mac hard drive.

Restore a MacBook to the settings of the plants will erase all your data stored on it. You will be required to transfer all the data to another Mac, via a backup. Clone your entire hard drive is the best option because it is a perfect copy of the structure of your disk and its contents.

Carbon Copy Cloner and SuperDuper are good programs to clone your hard drive (both have a free trial version, the options are, they, for a fee). To clone your disk, you will need an external hard drive and one of these programs. For this tutorial, we chose to use Carbon Copy Cloner (image above).

Launch the program and then choose your hard disk said source and destination, and then click Clone at the bottom right of the screen.

Now, you should be able to boot your Mac from your external hard drive to be cloned.

To do this, restart your Mac holding the Option key (between down the ctrl key and Cmd).

Using the arrows on your keyboard, select the external hard drive and press Enter.

This clone disk can be re-cloned in the primary disk, if your goal is to restore your Mac, or it can be used to access all the original files from your computer, in the case of a cleaning of your internal drive.

2 – Remove the permission to access iTunes.

Before you separate from your Mac, remove the authorization allowing access to your iTunes account. This means that your computer will not be associated with your iTunes account.

The method to use depends on the version of your system :

See you in iTunes, and then click Account → Permissions → Remove the access permission on this computer. Enter your Apple id and password, and then click Remove permission to access.

You will also need to withdraw the authorization with third-party programs such as Photoshop, and you disconnect from iCloud.

3 – Turn Off FileVault.

FileVault takes care of encrypting the files present on your hard drive, there is no need to leave it enabled as you proceed with the cleaning of the latter. To do this, follow the steps below :

Open System Preferences and click Security and privacy.

.
Select the FileVault tab.

.
To the right of the screen, you will see Enable FileFault, if it is on a grey background, is that it is not enabled. This is confirmed further down by “FileVault is turned off for the disk “Mac hd,””.

.
To disable it, first click on the padlock in the bottom left, enter your password, and then disable FileVault.

.

4 – Disable iCloud.

Turn off iCloud is very simple :

Open System Preferences.

.
Select iCloud and click on log off, bottom left.

.
Then, to delete all your personal data, in the window that opens uncheck the boxes of iCloud Drive.. and then click Continue.

5 – Restart your Mac in safe mode.

First of all, make sure that you are connected to the internet, this is necessary to the installation of macOS. Then, follow the steps below :

Click on the Apple icon.

.
Press and hold down key Command [cmd] and R until the disk Utility window in safe mode appears.

6 – to Clear your Mac hard drive.

Before you follow this mini-tutorial, it is advisable to have cloned his hard drive first (see above). Once this is done, follow these steps :

Select the disk Utility (Applications).

.
Now, choose your main drive (normally named Mac hd), and then click Dismount.

.
Select the Erase tab and click Clear, to clear out your entire hard drive.

.
Exit the utility. Select disk Utility → Quit disk Utility.

7 – Reinstall macOS.

Last straight line before the rebirth of your Mac ! Follow these two small steps :

Click on Reinstall under Utilities Mac OS, and then click Continue. Follow the instructions displayed on your screen. This will allow you to load and install a copy of the macOS, blank, without any data on your Mac.

.
If you plan to sell your computer, enter your Apple id or your password during this step.
The new owner will finalize the installation.